RECORDS OF PROCEEDINGS AT MEETINGS

GENERAL MEETING

held on 2 July 2021 on Zoom. Over 80 members and visitors were present for all or part of the meeting.

The meeting began at 3.30 p.m. with the President, Professor Jon Keating, FRS, in the Chair.

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting, held on 20 November 2020, had been made available 21 days prior to the General Meeting. The President invited members to vote, by an electronic poll, to ratify these Minutes. The Minutes were ratified by a majority.

On a recommendation from Council it was agreed to elect Professor Charles Goldie and Professor Chris Lance as scrutineers in the forthcoming Council elections. The President invited members to vote, by an electronic poll to ratify Council's recommendation. The recommendation was ratified unanimously.

The President, on Council's behalf, proposed that following people be elected to Honorary Membership of the Society:

- Professor Bảo Châu Ngô, University of Chicago
- Professor Laure Saint-Raymond, Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (IHES)
- Professor Peter Sarnak, Institute for Advanced Study
- Professor Ya-xiang Yuan, Chinese Academy of Sciences

This was approved by acclaim. The President read a short version of the citations, to be published in full in the *Bulletin of the London Mathematical Society*.

The President then announced the awards of the prizes for 2021:

- Professor Ehud Hrushovski FRS, University of Oxford, Pólya Prize
- Professor Tara Brendle, University of Glasgow, Senior Whitehead Prize
- Professor Endre Süli, University of Oxford, Naylor Prize and Lectureship
- Dr Ailsa Keating, University of Cambridge, Berwick Prize
- Dr Viveka Erlandsson, University of Bristol, Anne Bennett Prize

Whitehead Prizes

Dr Jonathan Evans, Lancaster University, Professor Patrick Farrell, University of Oxford, Dr Agelos Georgakopoulos, University of Warwick, Dr Michael Magee, Durham University, Dr Aretha Teckentrup, University of Edinburgh, Professor Stuart White, University of Oxford, Whitehead Prize.

The President then announced the award of the joint LMS-BSHM Hirst Prize 2021:

Professor Karine Chemla, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)

There were 20 nominations for elections to membership at this meeting.

- 4 Associate (undergraduate): Malek Alhajkhouder, Romeo King, Leonard Mushunje, Stefan Roberts
- 5 Associate: Dr Gemma Crowe, Dr Farhana Akond, Pramy, Dr Nathan Kirk, Dr Megchung Zhang, Dr Larry read,
- 9 Ordinary: Tarig Abelgadir, Emmanuel Akaligwo, Dr Dafydd Gwion Evans, Dr John Evans, Professor William Lee, Dr Ian Mackie, Lawrence Reilyy, Dmytro Tupchiienko, dr Markus Upmeier 2 Reciprocity: Dr James Haselman, Adnane Snoussi

There was no Members' Book to sign at this meeting, so no admissions will be made to the Society until November 2020.

The President introduced a lecture given by Professor Emily Riehl (Johns Hopkins) on *Elements* of ∞ -Category Theory.

At the end of the meeting, the President thanked Emily Riehl and Markus Land (at the June 24th Graduate Student Meeting lecture, *Infinity-categories in Algebra and Topology*) for their brilliant lectures.