RECORDS OF PROCEEDINGS

ORDINARY MEETING: 14TH May 2021

This meeting was held virtually on Zoom, hosted by ICMS, at the LMS Spitalfields History of Mathematics Meeting, in partnership with UCL Special Collections. **31** members and visitors were present for the Society meeting session.

The Society meeting began at 2.00 pm BST on May 14th with the LMS President, Professor Jonathan Keating, in the Chair. Professor Keating welcomed guests, thanked the organising parties, and welcomed the election of 22 new LMS Members.

Twelve people were elected to Ordinary Membership: Mr Duncan Adamson, Miss Sinead Baker, Dr Tobias Barker, Dr Carl Barton, Dr Writambhara Chakraborty, Dr Jamshid Derakhshan, Dr Christopher Hampson, Professor Jan Obloj, Professor Cyprien Saito, Dr Iain Smears, Dr Entmont Stamatis and Professor Marie-Therese Wolfram.

Five people were elected to Reciprocity Membership: Mr Spencer Cobbs, Dr Can Hatipoglu, Professor Aaron Lauda, Dr Turlough Lynch and Mr Selvaraju Munandy.

Three people were elected to Associate Membership: Dr Bobby Cheng, Mr Benedikt Petko and Mr Michael Rosbotham.

Two people were elected to Associate (Undergraduate) Membership: Mr Darren Loroy and Mr Gabriel Smakaj.

Professor Keating then handed over to Dr Mark McCartney (LMS Librarian) to introduce Professor Tony Rawlins (Brunel), who spoke about *Some mathematicians who published and solved problems in the Educational Times.* Dr McCartney then introduced Sarah Aitchison (UCL), who spoke about UCL Special collections. During the break a PowerPoint presentation gave the attendees a flavour of the items held in the UCL Special Collections.

After the break Dr McCartney introduced Professor Norman Biggs (LSE) who spoke about *Kirkman and the Educational Times: Groups and Designs*. Dr McCartney then introduced a presentation given by Professor Sloan Despeaux (Western Carolina) on *Questions and Answers, Questions et résponses: Exchange between the Educational Times and the Nouvelles Annales de Mathématiques.*

Professor Keating concluded the meeting by thanking the speakers, organisers and meeting attendees on behalf of the LMS.