RECORDS OF PROCEEDINGS

ORDINARY MEETING

held on 8 April 2021 online, hosted by the University of Glasgow with support from the International Centre for Mathematical Sciences (ICMS), as part of the Joint British Mathematical Colloquium – British Applied Mathematical Colloquium (BMC-BAMC). Over 120 members and guests were present for all or part of the meeting.

The meeting began at 4.00pm with The President, Professor Jon Keating FRS, in the Chair.

There were 186 members elected to Membership at this Society Meeting.

Eleven people were elected to Ordinary membership: Dr Konstantinos Gourgoulias, Dr Cristina Manolache, Dr Kenichi Mori, Professor Nigel Mottram, Dr Ian Petrow, Dr Dr. Mohd. Rizwanullah, Professor Nicholas Shepherd-Barron, Mr Michael Tosdevin, Mr Seshu Kumar Velagapudi, Mr Oyesetan Waheed Prince and Dr Shahid Zaffar.

Four people were elected to Reciprocity membership: Mr Juan José Granier Torres, Mr Eduard Stefan Grigoriciuc, Dr Lubomir Markov and Dr Manikandan Rangaswamy.

Six people were elected to Associate membership: Mr Ibrahim Alsendid, Mr Bishnu Ghosh, Mr Tom Goodman, Dr Florian Klimm, Mr Nick Poulios and Dr Bolys Sabitbek.

Three people were elected to Associate (Undergraduate) membership: Ms Christina Baker, Mr Ryan Graham and Miss Mahsa Manzari.

162 people were elected to Associate (Teacher Training Scholarship) membership: Miss Sheila Abdulrasul, Mr Junaid Adia, Miss Estelle Agyeman, Miss Mariam Ahmed, Mr Mohamed Ahmed, Miss Anisha Akther. Mr Dylan Allport, Mr Thomas Allum-Watts, Ms Annabel Amin, Ms Diane Armitage, Mr Vincent Atigla, Miss Hameeda Azam, Miss Alix Bailey, Miss Jettie Baker, Miss Rosie Ballard, Mr Joseph Barnes, Mr Max Baron, Mr Lewis Bates, Mr Liam Bath, Mr Jack Bedford, Miss Aysha Begum, Mr Tyrell Bernard, Mr Joseph Blackmur, Mrs Tamla Bowdler, Dr Simon Brain, Miss Naomi Bryant, Miss Beth Buckland, Miss Katie Burke, Mr Conor Burrows, Miss Emily Carmichael, Mr Mark Carrick, Mr Gregory Chapman, Miss Subhana Choudry, Mr Henry Cole, Miss Lauren Cooper, Mr Tom Copeland, Miss Natalie Costello, Mr Nick Cowley, Miss Alyssa Critchley, Miss Eilidh Cruse, Miss Sonia Dari, Mr Daniel de Falbe, Mr Amzad Derdiwala, Mr Jack Devereux, Ms Alexandra Dobozy, Ms Elizabeth Dolphin, Miss Rebecca Duffy, Mr Ben Eastwood, Miss Amy Edmond, Miss Ruth Ejigayehu, Miss Sanaa Elrrakik, Mr William Farrow, Dr Samuel Ford, Mrs Nadeera Gamage, Mr Matthew Gandy, Miss Crystal Gardner, Miss Imogen Garton, Mr Charles Gatehouse, Ms Helen Gerrard, Mr Matthew Glover, Miss Siobhan Gnanakulendran, Miss Imogen Gough, Miss Sian Gould, Miss Tabitha Goulty, Dr Rebecca Haestier, Miss Ella Hanley, Dr Sharon Harris, Miss Sophia Harrison, Mrs Sophie Hearle, Mrs Nadine Heseltine, Miss Stephanie Higgins, Mr Rhidian Hill, Miss Olivia Home, Mr Adeel Idrees, Miss Millie Jeffery, Miss Leonie Jenkins-Nwagbo, Miss Jessica Jones, Miss Catherine Jones, Miss Rasihha Lalithasan, Miss Hannah Lavin, Mrs Helen Li, Miss Katie Liddell, Miss Molly Lillicrap, Miss Ellie Lumb, Mr Jaimy John Hargreaves Lunn, Miss Ysabelle Luty, Mr Theo Lynds, Mr Jonathan Mallatratt, Dr Robert Manning, Miss Africa Paloma Martinez Denning, Miss Vanessa Martins de Lima, Dr Rachel McCarthy, Mr Davy McCracken, Mr Jamie Mcilroy, Mrs Emma Mellor, Miss Francesca Merritt, Miss Zoe Miller, Mr Raoul Milner, Miss Katie Mitchell, Miss Hannah Morris, Mr Jack Newall, Mr Michael Newton, Miss Eleanor Norris, Mr Basil Olewa, Mr Luke Owen, Miss Meg Owen, Mr Joseph Page, Miss Ella Panepinto, Mr Sam Parkin, Miss Olivia Parsons, Mr Simon Parsons, Mrs Naomi Pendleton, Mr Matthew Perkins, Mr Harry Phillips, Miss Rhian Player, Miss Laura Pollard, Miss Julia Prout, Dr Jonathan Puddicombe, Miss Manisha Rattoo, Miss Chloe Raw, Mr Rahib Rehman, Miss Jacqui Rhodes, Mr Yousaf Said, Miss Maryam Sajid, Ms Sinead Sarsfield, Mr Thomas Scrivener, Mr George Seager, Mr Alexander Sergiou, Miss Rebecca Sharpe, Miss Tahira Sherif, Mr Lee Skillern, Mr Aaron Smith, Mr Alex Smith, Miss Chloe Smith, Miss Paige Smith, Mrs Sharan Spall, Mr Mark Tallett, Mr Alexander Taylor, Miss Zoe Taylor, Miss Amie Thackeray, Mr Ben Thomas, Miss Sarah Timson, Miss Laurel Umo, Miss Charlotte Upton, Miss Penni Vidler, Dr Carolina Villalonga-Barber, Miss Sadaf Wadoodi, Miss Elena Wang, Mr Matthew Ware, Mr Aaron Waring, Mr Christopher Warner, Miss Dana Whitby, Miss Heather Whyte, Mr Ayub Williams, Mr Thomas Williams, Ms Alys Wilman, Miss Joanna Wilson, Miss Rosie Wilson, Mr Stephen Wolstenholme, Miss Hayley Worrall, Miss Sobitha (Sobi) Yogeswaran and Ms Isha Yusif.

Due to the online nature of the meeting, no members signed the Member's Book and were admitted to the Society.

Dr Brendan Owens, University of Glasgow, introduced the LMS Plenary lecture given by Professor Ciprian Manolescu (Stanford University) on *Khovanov homology and four-manifolds*.

Professor Keating thanked the speaker for his excellent lecture and then expressed the thanks of the Society to the organisers, Dr Brendan Owens, the University of Glasgow and the ICMS, for a wonderful meeting and Joint BMC-BAMC.